Leading industry associations welcome back-to-work legislation at the Port of Montreal, call for swift passage

Mississauga Board of Trade
Mississauga Board of Trade


April 25, 2021


Updates on new members, upcoming events, and the latest news.

"*" indicates required fields

 (OTTAWA) – April 25, 2021 – Canada’s leading national industry associations today issued the following statement in response to the announcement of back-to-work legislation at the Port of Montreal by Labour Minister Filomena Tassi:

“We are pleased to see Minister Tassi’s announcement that she will introduce back-to-work legislation on Monday morning. The prospect of a second strike in seven months has disrupted supply chains in all industries and hampered Canada’s economic recovery at a time of severe downturn.  As the second-largest port in Canada, the Port of Montreal is an essential contributor to Canada’s trade with the world. A labour stoppage would not only prevent goods from passing through the port but would also create congestion at other ports, causing bottlenecks at key points of entry for Canadian businesses.

We call upon all Members of Parliament to pass the bill expeditiously to prevent the serious damage a strike would have on jobs and on Canada’s economic recovery.”


About the Canadian Chamber of Commerce – Because Business Matters

 The Canadian Chamber of Commerce helps build the businesses that support our families, our communities and our country. We do this by influencing government policy, by providing essential business services and by connecting businesses to information they can use, to opportunities for growth and to a network of local chambers, businesses, decision-makers and peers from across the country, in every sector of the economy and at all levels of government, as well as internationally. We are unapologetic in our support for business and the vital role it plays in building and sustaining our great nation.



For more information, please contact:

Emily Walsh ewalsh@chamber.ca

List of Industry Associations

Hon. Perrin Beatty, P.C., O.C.

President and Chief Executive Officer Canadian Chamber of Commerce

Michael Graydon

Chief Executive Officer

Food, Health, and Consumer Products Canada

Luke Chapman

Interim President
Beer Canada

Derek Nighbor

President and Chief Executive Officer

Forest Products Association of Canada

Shannon Coombs


Canadian Consumer Specialty Products Association

John Corey


Freight Management Association

Dan Kelly

President and Chief Executive Officer Canadian Federation of Independent Business

Sandy MacLeod

President & CEO

Heating, Refrigeration and Air Conditioning Institute of Canada

Jim Keon


Canadian Generic Pharmaceutical Association

Kim Campbell


Importers and Exporters Canada

Ralph Suppa

President and General Manager

Canadian Institute of Plumbing and Heating

Lisa Kowalchuk

Executive Director

Medicine Hat & District Chamber of Commerce

Bruce Rodgers

Executive Director

Canadian International Freight Forwarders Association

Pierre Gratton

President and Chief Executive Officer

Mining Association of Canada

Dennis Darby

President and Chief Executive Officer Canadian Manufacturers and Exporters

David Wojcik

President and Chief Executive Officer Mississauga Board of Trade

Ron Lemaire


Canadian Produce Marketing Association

Greg Cherewyk


Pulse Canada

Brian Kingston
President and Chief Executive Officer Canadian Vehicle Manufacturers’ Association
Cathy Campbell


Responsible Distribution Canada

Carol McGlogan

President and Chief Executive Officer Electro-Federation Canada

Diane J. Brisebois

President and Chief Executive Officer

Retail Council of Canada

Karen Proud
President and Chief Executive Officer
Fertilizer Canada
Christian Buhagiar
President and Chief Executive Officer

Supply Chain Canada

Scroll to Top